"Sigh" moment (Bad) / comedy / Food / Mommyhood / PhD me

He put a ring on it, now I’m working to keep my ring

You may have to bring yourself up to date by reading an earlier post:  http://mypurpleglasses.com/2011/10/03/he-finally-put-a-ring-on-it/

It all started with a perfect cloudless fall day.  I was making my way into work noticing the clarity of the sky and walking, seemingly, feet off of the ground.  Today, I was to start assaying my proteins.  Months have gone into getting everything together and all I have to do is rock n’ roll my way to tons of data.  I won’t say that my fairy tale came crashing down.  I will just say there was a little skip in the soundtrack.

Getting ready today was remarkably easy.  My son was in great spirits.  I got us ready very quickly and smoothly.  I did my mental checklist, we had everything and all engines were a go.  But what was I forgetting?

I got in early enough to get a good set up.  I was totally prepared.  I had practiced the motions of the experiment over and over again.  I had my typed up protocol for the day.  I had made buffers ahead of time and making my solutions was a breeze.  I had everything together.  But what was I forgetting?

The nature of the experiments requires that I wear my ring that Science gave me.  You know Science.  He is THE ONE.  I stopped flirting a few years back and made a commitment.  AND after years, he decided to put a ring on it.  That Science.  Now, ladies (or gentlemen) just because you get the ring does not mean your work is done.  I knew this, I just thought it would be a bit more straight forward.  Put in the work to get the data, write the paper, give the talks, etc.  Right?

I did my first experiment.  It went very well for my first time.  So good, I let out a sigh of relief.  I could actually feel the tension leave my body as I gained the sensation of blood actually pumping through my veins.  This was a good moment for me and Science.  It was as if I made his favorite dish that his mother is best at making and got the second place trophy (not really aiming to knock anybody’s Momma out of first place.  feel me?).  I was elated.  It was a small victory, but I was still elated.  Remember, I have been building up to this for months.  SO yes, elation.  But I was forgetting something.

My moment of elation was soon met with…no lie…nausea?  How did that happen?

My last time point for the first experiment was kinda long, and I remembered that had I left my lunch at home.  I had a meeting that was to start as soon as I finished doing my experiments, so I ran quickly to grab a sandwich.  I came back and put my lunch on my desk.  I was geared up to finish everything out:  take last time point, second experiment will only take 5 minutes, load my gel, let it run, BAM!!!  I was “ballin like I’m comin offa freethrows”  (quote by the always eloquent Roscoe Dashh).   But what was I forgetting?

I take my last time point and I start my second experiment.  The second experiment was, by necessity, very short and very fast.  I had to act quickly.  I thought that feeling in my gut was just the nerves of wanting to get it right.  I thought the profuse sweating was just the awful, worst-than-polyester lab coat.  I though the fact that I felt like fainting was…huh?  I thought I was going to faint.  I get the experiment going when all of a sudden, I can’t see.  No really, it seems as if I am looking through a pair of someone else’s glasses (you know that feeling).  Everything was gray and blurry.  On top of that, I felt the waves of my body feeling like a helium balloon then feeling like a ton of bricks.

Thankfully, as this was my first go at this experiment, I had a faculty lab member hovering over me at my request.  Thankfully, she came in to jot down times as I was going through the course of experiments.  Thankfully, when the fact that everything looking gray and blurry was not a cause to stop, she was there when nausea pimp slapped me like I had stolen it’s money.

I mean WHOA!  I thought I was going down.  I safely handed over the reigns of the experiment, disrobed (JUST THE LAB COAT AND GLOVES, no one got naked) and ran to the restroom.  I didn’t vomit, I couldn’t vomit.  I just felt like I needed to call 911.  What did I forget?  This was not my first time in the cockpit of a fighterjet.  I was not in the middle of doing my first lifesaving surgery.  I was not about to get on anybody’s stage and sing the national anthem or give a presidential address.  I was doing an experiment.  But what did I forget?

To eat.

To eat?  I had been up forever.  Fed my child, got us ready and out the door.  Came to work, set the experiment, and was rocking out.  Then I realized.  All that time on my feet, going and going.  I never even grabbed a glass of juice.  I had nothing in my body.  I have gone days barely eating and it wasn’t like this.  And I had gone hours without eating and it was like this.  Oh, the predicability of the human body.

The second that I had built up the strength to leave the restroom I knew I needed get some type of sugar in my system, I realized I had crashed from low blood sugar.  If you have ever crashed like that you know that the only thing your body wants is bed.  It’s painful and disorienting, and, for me, embarrassing.  And I still had a long day ahead of me.

Our first big event as an official couple and I felt like I let Science down (I am going to wear out this analogy in case you were wondering).  Simply put, I was so focused on the task at hand that I overlooked the basics of the basics.  As prepared as I was for the actual experiment, I did not prepare for being on my feet continuously for so long.  There the addition of all the things that were on my mind and kinda stressing me out, then the pressure to get the assay right…

The moral of the story is.  Anyone, or anything, who puts a ring on it expects (or should expect) you to take care of yourself.  Otherwise, what is the ring worth?  Food for thought?  Might apply to plenty of other things in life.

Oh yeah, eat breakfast.

 

Leave a Reply

