PhD me / Quotes / Uncategorized

from Circles.

I just got to bed.  I have been working for close to 20 hours straight.  it’s not abnormal.  i’m tired.  and i love what i do.  it only feels like 20 hours to my feet and my lower back and my eyeballs.   i guess i am really only writing because i need to do something in order to try to sleep.  this topic has been on my mind and i randomly ended up reading a part of this essay during my dinner break.  worth reflecting on.  here goes.

“Every man supposes himself not to be fully understood; and if there is any truth in him, if he rests at least on the divine soul, I see not how it can be otherwise.  The last chamber, the last closet, he must feel was never opened; there is always a residuum unknown, unanalyzable.  That is, every man believes that he has a greater possibility.”  -Emerson, “Circles.”

The unknown.  The unanalyzable.  The greater possibility.

One thought on “from Circles.

Leave a Reply

