PhD me / Science / Uncategorized

What do you know about enzymes? : Maud Menten

Here again with a science history short.

Yes, I am a senior graduate student in Biochemistry.  This fact has not kept me from needing to go back to basics on some subject matters.  My research took an unexpected turn and I found myself reading (for the thousandth time) about Michaelis-Menten kinetics.  I remembered that it was only last year that I found out that Menten of Michaelis-Menten was a woman.  Why is this big?

Women in science still face obstacles 100 years after Maud Menten left Canada in order to be able to do research.  In overcoming the limitations placed on her for being a woman, Maud Menten made lasting contributions to enzymology which lead to impacts on nearly all areas of basic science.

Read more on Maud Menten:

Wikipedia-Maud Menten

Rebecca Skloot for UPitt on Maud Menten (great read)

UPitt on Maud Menten

Also by Rebecca Skloot – The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

Leave a Reply

